MARCH 13–16 • 2021

CNS 2021 | The 27th Annual George A. Miller Prize in Cognitive Neuroscience (GAM)

Congratulations Elizabeth Phelps, our 2021 Annual George A. Miller Prize in Cognitive Neuroscience Awardee. Elizabeth Phelps will accept this prestigious award and deliver her lecture on Sunday, March 14, 2021, 1:00 – 2:00 pm (ET), in the Cerebrum Room.


George and Me: From the Cognitive Revolution to the Human Neuroscience of Emotion and Memory

Speaker: Elizabeth Phelps, Ph.D., Harvard University

Sunday, March 14, 2021, 1:00PM - 2:00PM (ET), Cerebrum Room

In honor of the namesake for this award, my talk will provide an overview of the research trajectory of my career highlighting the direct and indirect influence of George Armitage Miller. George A. Miller is my academic great-grandfather and served as an outside, second advisor to me during graduate school. His scholarly contributions to psychology, the intellectual approach he passed down to his students, and his efforts to promote cognitive neuroscience, both in general and for me in particular, shaped my academic career. Through the lens of the evolution of my research on emotion and memory, I will discuss my perspective on the development of this research in the context of the growth of cognitive neuroscience more broadly, as well as pay tribute to the contributions of George A. Miller.


The George A. Miller Prize in Cognitive Neuroscience was established in 1995 by the Cognitive Neuroscience Society to honor the innovative scholarship of George A. Miller, whose many theoretical advances has so greatly influenced the discipline of cognitive neuroscience. The first ten years of the prize were funded by generous support from the James S. McDonnell Foundation.

The Prize shall be awarded to the nominee whose career is characterized by distinguished and sustained scholarship and research at the cutting-edge of their discipline and that has in the past, or has the potential in the future, to revolutionize cognitive neuroscience. Extraordinary innovation and high impact on international scientific thinking should be a hallmark of the recipient's work.

Each year a call for nominations for the George A. Miller Prize will be made to the membership of the society. The recipient of the prize will attend the annual meeting of the Cognitive Neuroscience Society and deliver the George A. Miller lecture.



Previous Winners of the George A. Miller Lectureship

2020 Nancy Kanwisher, Ph.D, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2019 Earl K. Miller, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2018 Elizabeth Spelke, Ph.D., Harvard University
2017 Dr. David Van Essen, Ph.D., Alumni Endowed Processor, Washington University in St Louis
2016 Brian Wandell, Ph.D., Isaac and Madeline Stein Family Professor
2015 Patricia Kuhl, Ph.D., University of Washington
2014 Jon Kaas, Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
2013 Fred Gage, Ph.D., The Salk Institute
2012 Eve Marder, Ph.D., Brandeis University
2011 Mortimer Mishkin, Ph.D., NIMH
2010 Steven Pinker, Ph.D., Harvard University
2009 Marcus Raichle, M.D., Washington University School of Medicine
2008 Anne Treisman, Ph.D., Princeton University
2007 Joaquin M. Fuster, Ph.D., University of California Los Angeles
2006 Steven A. Hillyard, Ph.D., University of California San Diego
2005 Leslie Ungerleider, Ph.D., National Institute of Mental Health
2004 Michael Posner, Ph.D., University of Oregon
2003 Michael Gazzaniga, Ph.D., Dartmouth College
2002 Daniel Kahneman, Ph.D., Princeton University
2001 William Newsome, Ph.D., Stanford University
2000 Patricia Churchland, Ph.D., University of California, San Diego
1999 Giacommo Rizzolatti, M.D., University of Parma, Italy
1998 Susan Carey, Ph.D., New York University
1997 Roger Shepard, Ph.D., Stanford University
1996 David Premack, Ph.D., CNRS, France
1995 David H. Hubel, M.D., Harvard Medical School



MARCH 13–16 • 2021

Latest from Twitter