About the YIA Awards

The purpose of the awards is to recognize outstanding contributions by scientists early in their careers. Two awardees, one male and one female, are named by the Awards Committee, and are honored at the CNS annual meeting.

Congratulations to Adriana Galvan and Joel Voss on being awarded the CNS 2016 Young Investigator Award. Adriana Galvan and Joel Voss will give their award lectures on Monday, April 4, 2016, 4:00 –5:00 pm, in the Grand Ballroom West at the New York Hilton Midtown Hotel.

“The Cognitive Neuroscience of Adolescent Behavior”

– Adriana Galvan, Associate Professor of Psychology, Jeffrey Wenzel Term Chair in Behavioral Neuroscience, Department of Psychology, UCLA

Abstract: The human brain undergoes significant maturation during adolescence. Most changes occur in mesolimbic circuitry and frontal cortex. Intriguingly, mesolimbic brain regions exhibit non-linear patterns of neural engagement, showing the greatest activation in adolescents as compared to younger and older individuals. This pattern of development is in contrast to linear patterns of development observed in cortical regions. How does this unique neurodevelopmental phenotype affect commonly observed behavior in adolescents? In which environmental circumstances do these neurobehavioral interactions yield adaptive versus maladaptive behavior? Research in my laboratory is designed to address these questions. In this talk, I will present a line of research testing the hypothesis that the ongoing maturation of mesolimbic circuitry during adolescence confers greater sensitivity to environmental input and flexibility in decision making. These hypotheses are tested with cognitive, neuroimaging, endocrine, and eyeblink studies. Contrary to historical narratives about the destructive consequences of the unstable adolescent brain, this research is revealing particular ways in which its plasticity bears exciting possibilities for learning, exploration, and ingenuity.

“Enhancing episodic memory networks using noninvasive brain stimulation”

– Joel Voss, Assistant Professor, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Departments of Medical Social Sciences, Neurology, and Psychiatry.

Episodic memory has been associated with interactions among a distributed set of brain regions forming a hippocampal-cortical network. This network is disrupted in a variety of neurological and neuropsychiatric conditions that have memory impairment as a chief symptom. I will describe my laboratory’s efforts to target and manipulate portions of this network using noninvasive electromagnetic stimulation. We have shown that multiple-day, network-targeted, repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation (rTMS) can produce lasting enhancements of network functional MRI connectivity and episodic memory performance. These changes are robust 24 hours after the final rTMS session and persist in weakened form for up to 2 weeks. Furthermore, rTMS-induced changes are highly specific to targeted portions of the hippocampal-cortical network defined a priori on anatomical grounds. Improvements in episodic memory performance also occur with enhanced neural correlates of recollective retrieval, suggesting relative specificity of stimulation effects on the targeted posterior portions of the hippocampal-cortical network that are more heavily implicated in recollective than familiarity-based memory retrieval. Targeted noninvasive stimulation of hippocampal-cortical networks is a promising approach for studying involvement of hippocampal-cortical networks in memory that could have significant impact on impairments of memory in a variety of disorders.


Previous Winners


Donna Rose Addis, Ph.D., University of Auckland, NZ
Christopher Summerfield, Ph.D., University of Oxford


Daphna Shohamy, Ph.D. , Columbia University
David Badre, Ph.D., Brown University


Uta Noppeney, Ph.D., University of Birmingham, UK
Tor Wager, Ph.D., University of Colorado


Adam Aron, Ph.D., University of California San Diego Roshan Cools, Ph.D., Donders Institute for Brain, Cognition and Behaviour


Michael J. Frank, Ph.D., Brown University
Elizabeth Kensinger, Ph.D., Boston College


Kara Federmeier, University of Illinois
Adam Anderson, University of Toronto


Lila Davachi, New York University
Clayton Curtis, New York University


Charan Ranganath, University of California Davis
Kevin Ochsner, Columbia University
Rebecca Saxe, Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Silvia A. Bunge, University of California
Steven Laureys, MD, University of Liège


Frank Tong, Vanderbilt University
Alumit Ishai, University of Zurich


Sabine Kastner, Princeton University
Kevin LaBar, Duke University


Anthony Wagner, Stanford University
Eleanor Maguire, University College London


Roberto Cabeza, Duke University
Sharon Thompson-Schill, University of Pennsylvania


Isabel Gauthier, Vanderbilt University
Randy Buckner, Washington University Saint Louis