CNS 2020
March 14-17  |  Boston

Statement on Principles of Community and Code of Conduct

An open exchange of ideas, the freedom of thought and expression, and respectful scientific debate are central to the aims and goals of the Cognitive Neuroscience Society (CNS). CNS stands firmly for an environment that recognizes the inherent worth of every person and group, that fosters dignity, understanding, and mutual respect, and that celebrates diversity. The Governing Board and committee members of CNS endorse a safe, respectful and harassment-free experience for members, speakers/presenters and staff of the CNS.

Harassment and hostile behavior are unwelcome at CNS before, during and after organized lectures and poster sessions. We stand against harassment based on race, gender, religion, age, appearance, national origin, ancestry, disability, sexual orientation, and gender identity, or any other category. Harassment includes degrading verbal comments, deliberate intimidation, stalking, harassing photography or recording, inappropriate physical contact, and unwelcome sexual attention. The policy is not intended to inhibit challenging scientific debate, but rather to promote it by ensuring that all are welcome to participate in a shared spirit of scientific inquiry. These principles apply equally to scientific and social events organized by CNS.

Any concerns should be conveyed to a member of our Diversity, Outreach and Training Committee:
Richard Prather, (Chair) prather1@umd.edu
Amy Belfi. amybelfi@mst.edu
Bhismadev Chakrabarti, b.chakrabarti@reading.ac.uk
Audrey Duarte, audrey.duarte@psych.gatech.edu
Christopher Madan, christopher.madan@nottingham.ac.uk
Noa Ofen, noa.ofen@wayne.edu
Aleksandra Sherman, asherman@oxy.edu;
Bradley Voytek, bradley.voytek@gmail.com

Updated and published in 2017.